Way of Life or HabitForge
A colour-coded tracker, green or red per day, that has been marking chains since 2010.
Last checked 7 November 2026. Check Way of Life yourself
Who is better off where
Choose Way of Life if a minute a day marking green or red is all you want, with a diary note for what set a bad habit off and charts over years.
Choose HabitForge if you want the habit's own cue, routine and reward beside the colour, a rope that shows strength rather than a chain that shows days, and people who can see you keep going.
What it costs
On Way of Life
- Free: Free. Free with in-app purchases; Premium unlocks unlimited habits. apps.apple.com
- Premium: Amount not stated. The App Store lists Premium items at $4.99, $14.99 and $29.99 without stating their periods; the website shows no price. apps.apple.com
What HabitForge costs
- Free: 30 habits, for ever
- Pro: $9.99 a month ยท $99.90 a year
- Family: $8.99 a seat a month ยท 3โ6 people
Feature by feature
Our column comes from the code we ship. Theirs comes from their own pages and store listings. A row they do not mention says so, which does not mean they lack it.
| Feature | Way of Life | HabitForge |
|---|
| Cue, routine and reward written on each habit | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| A picture of the habit beyond a streak number | Yes (wayoflifeapp.com) | Yes |
|---|
| A missed day leaves the kept days in place | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Habits you want to stop | Yes (wayoflifeapp.com) | Yes |
|---|
| Pause a habit and come back | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Reminders | Yes (wayoflifeapp.com) | Yes |
|---|
| Friends, challenges or a feed | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Web app | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Android app | Yes (play.google.com) | Yes |
|---|
| iOS app | Yes (apps.apple.com) | No |
|---|
| Check in offline | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Export your data | Yes (play.google.com) | Yes |
|---|
| AI drafts and reflections | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| A per-seat household plan | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Home screen widgets | Yes (apps.apple.com) | No |
|---|
| Health or wearable sync | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
|---|
| A free plan | Yes (apps.apple.com) | Yes |
|---|
| Open source | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
|---|
What HabitForge does not do
- No iOS app. There is no iPhone or iPad app. On those devices HabitForge runs in the browser.
- No home screen widgets. To check in, you open the app. Nothing sits on your home screen.
- No health or wearable sync. Nothing reads your watch, your step count or another app. A check-in is something you do on purpose.
- No guided way to replace a habit. You can mark a habit as one to break and write down its cue and reward. Nothing here walks you through keeping that cue and reward while you change the routine.
Open HabitForge