Strides or HabitForge
A goal and habit tracker with four tracker types, SMART goals, progress reports and 150 templates.
Last checked 7 November 2026. Check Strides yourself
Who is better off where
Choose Strides if you track numbers and dated targets as much as habits, want SMART goals with an on-track pace, and reports across everything in one place.
Choose HabitForge if you want the habit itself understood, cue, routine and reward in your own words, a rope that frays rather than a success rate that drops, and a community that works on Android and the web, not only between Apple devices.
What it costs
On Strides
- Free: Free. Free forever to track what is most important to you. apps.apple.com
- Strides Plus: Amount not stated. Monthly, annual or lifetime; the App Store lists Strides Plus items at $4.99, $7.99, $9.99, $29.99, $39.99, $99.99 and $149.99 without stating which is which. apps.apple.com
What HabitForge costs
- Free: 30 habits, for ever
- Pro: $9.99 a month ยท $99.90 a year
- Family: $8.99 a seat a month ยท 3โ6 people
Feature by feature
Our column comes from the code we ship. Theirs comes from their own pages and store listings. A row they do not mention says so, which does not mean they lack it.
| Feature | Strides | HabitForge |
|---|
| Cue, routine and reward written on each habit | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| A picture of the habit beyond a streak number | Yes (stridesapp.com) | Yes |
|---|
| A missed day leaves the kept days in place | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Habits you want to stop | Yes (apps.apple.com) | Yes |
|---|
| Pause a habit and come back | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Reminders | Yes (stridesapp.com) | Yes |
|---|
| Friends, challenges or a feed | Partly (stridesapp.com) | Yes |
|---|
| Web app | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Android app | Yes (stridesapp.com) | Yes |
|---|
| iOS app | Yes (stridesapp.com) | No |
|---|
| Check in offline | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Export your data | Yes (apps.apple.com) | Yes |
|---|
| AI drafts and reflections | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| A per-seat household plan | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
|---|
| Home screen widgets | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
|---|
| Health or wearable sync | Yes (apps.apple.com) | No |
|---|
| A free plan | Yes (apps.apple.com) | Yes |
|---|
| Open source | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
|---|
What HabitForge does not do
- No iOS app. There is no iPhone or iPad app. On those devices HabitForge runs in the browser.
- No home screen widgets. To check in, you open the app. Nothing sits on your home screen.
- No health or wearable sync. Nothing reads your watch, your step count or another app. A check-in is something you do on purpose.
- No guided way to replace a habit. You can mark a habit as one to break and write down its cue and reward. Nothing here walks you through keeping that cue and reward while you change the routine.
Open HabitForge